The Unseen by Katherine Webb

The UnseenThe Unseen by Katherine Webb

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Unseen was a pure pleasure to read. I’ve been on a bit of a Kate Morton, Hannah Richell, kick recently-give me the British Isles, a little bit of mystery, a few ghosts, and a little romance, and I’m in literary heaven. πŸ™‚
The Unseen was all these things, and was also a story which affected me deeply.
On the surface, the novel follows Reverend Albert Canning and his wife Hester during one formative and tragic summer in 1911. The newlyweds live quietly in a small village in the English countryside, and have just hired a new maid named Cat. The other main player in the drama that enfolds is a young theosophist named Robin, a charismatic, handsome young man who hopes to make his name by proving the existence of fairies.
Without revealing spoilers, it is safe to say that the novel deals with big issues, such as freedom, women’s rights, homosexuality, and the detrimental affects of guilt. The theme of deception, of oneself, and of others, runs throughout.
What I really enjoyed about the novel was how much I empathized with most of the main characters, flawed as some of them were. Even as they made horrible choices, it was clear to see how their violence and insanity was exacerbated, if not excused, by their own suffering and guilt.
In contrast to the narrative taking place around the turn of the century, part of The Unseen also follows journalist Leah in the present day as she investigates those past events. I found Leah’s story, which includes a rather tepid romance, to be much less compelling than the narrative set in 1911. In fact, I almost think that The Unseen didn’t need the present-day investigation as a structure, and would have been stronger if it had left out the dual-time aspect.
Regardless, I really, really enjoyed The Unseen. It gave me insight into a fascinating period in history, as well as introducing me to a group of characters who I connected with deeply. On a scale of emotional intensity from 1-10, I would rate The Unseen an 8. I fell in love with Cat, with her, earnest, loyal, and kind, lover George, and with Hester Canning, struggling to understand her husband and her world.
I left the characters of The Unseen with reluctance, and highly recommend this memorable novel.

View all my reviews

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline
    May 02, 2014 @ 10:57:49

    I’m so glad to hear you liked this as much as I just bought a copy. I’ve never read her, nor Kate Morton. I’m not always keen on this type of split narrative. There’s always one part be like much better,

    Reply

    • Hannah
      May 02, 2014 @ 16:25:51

      Caroline, I’ll be interested to see what you think of both authors. For some reason, The Unseen had the strongest emotional impact than the novels of Kate Morton, but both are wonderful. Have you read anything by Susanna Kearsley? She also does great dual-time stories.

      Reply

      • Caroline
        May 03, 2014 @ 00:19:56

        No, I haven’t read her yet but I bought her as well. I’ve only heard great things about her. I’m more tempted by Katherine Webb now.

  2. cleopatralovesbooks
    May 02, 2014 @ 11:04:24

    I liked this one too. Have you read Rachel Hore whose books fit into this genre?

    Reply

  3. Hannah
    May 02, 2014 @ 16:26:16

    I have not! Would you recommend one in particular?

    Reply

  4. thefourteenthofapril
    May 02, 2014 @ 17:40:48

    Have you read “The Legacy” by the same author?

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    May 03, 2014 @ 16:26:17

    will do! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

finnmackay

Feminist activist & researcher.

Elemental Witch

the witch is burning

Colouring for Wellbeing

Colouring for Fun, Mental Health & Relaxation

Steve Kaye Photo

Steve Kaye inspires respect for nature by showing his photos in talks, articles, and photo classes

Shapely Prose

2007-2010

tuckertranslations.wordpress.com/

Quality Translation and Language Services

Cleopatra Loves Books

One reader's view

Austenonly

Jane Austen's life, times and works explained and discussed

Olfactoria's Travels

A journey through the world of fragrance.

Jane Austen's World

This Jane Austen blog brings Jane Austen, her novels, and the Regency Period alive through food, dress, social customs, and other 19th C. historical details related to this topic.

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

For lovers of Australian and New Zealand literary fiction; Ambassador for Australian literature

Joanne Graham

Author, Mother, Random Dreamer

book'd out

Book Reviews and News

Petrona

Mainly about reading with an accent on intelligent crime fiction from around the world.

Reading In The Evening

Book reviews from a literature fiend

Julia Crouch

Novelist: the queen of domestic noir

Qwiklit

Learn Literature Now

