Dark Tide by Elizabeth Haynes

Dark TideDark Tide by Elizabeth Haynes

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am rounding this up from 3.5 to 4 stars because I’m feeling a little like defending this underdog of a book; one which seems to be the lowest rated and reviewed of Elizabeth Haynes’ novels.
I love Haynes’ thrillers, from her debut Into the Darkest Corner, featuring a heroine with OCD and a scary stalker, to her third novel, Human Remains, featuring a very twisted murder method.
Dark Tide is Haynes’ second novel, and I’d never read it because all the reviews I saw were disappointing.
Luckily for me, I recently found myself in a reading slump, craving a thriller from one of my favorite authors (in the vein of Julia Crouch, Elizabeth Haynes, Nicci French). So, I picked up Dark Tide from my local library, and I’m so glad that I did.
I’ve found that having very low expectations of a book or movie often means that I actually appreciate the good things about it more. And while Dark Tide was different from the other thrillers I’ve read by Haynes, and was weak in some ways, I also found it to be quite enjoyable.
My favorite things about Dark Tide were the two “themes” it is based around, which are: fixing up and living on a houseboat on a marina near London, and pole fitness/dancing.
Both of these things are subjects I know next to nothing about, and I found reading about the main character, Genevieve’s, experience of them to be absorbing escapism.
Genevieve herself is a good person, and the tone of Dark Tide is also, at heart, decent. It’s a thriller in which bad people do bad things, but in which plenty of good, imperfect, people, also try their best. I really liked this about Dark Tide.
*Quick side note: I’ve recently been reading a lot of thrillers which are also¬†categorized as “horror” and have realized that the element of horror…of a world that is ultimately evil and terrifying and bleak, is not one I enjoy immersing myself in. I love suspense and thrillers, and I like twisted plots, and mind-trips. I like excitement, but I don’t enjoy pure terror. Dark Tide is a good example of a thriller in which there was plenty of suspense, but which left me feeling hopeful.
Also, it is worth noting that I read the US edition of this novel, and the afterword stated that in this edition, the author appreciated that she had been encouraged to further develop Genevieve’s backstory. So it is possible that Dark Tide had differences from its original UK incarnation (Revenge of the Tide) which improved my impression of it.
Also, Elizabeth Haynes’ website includes a wonderful blog about Dark Tide with photos of many of the locations in England which inspired her novel.
Ultimately, Dark Tide is an enjoyable romantic-suspense novel, light on plot, but rich in interesting characters and settings. It’s different fare from the other novels I’ve read by Haynes, but I’m so glad I decided to give it a try.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Colouring for Wellbeing

Colouring for Fun, Mental Health & Relaxation

Steve Kaye Photo

Steve Kaye inspires respect for nature by showing his photos in talks, articles, and photo classes

Shapely Prose

2007-2010

tuckertranslations.wordpress.com/

Quality Translation and Language Services

Cleopatra Loves Books

One reader's view

Austenonly

Jane Austen's life, times and works explained and discussed

Olfactoria's Travels

A journey through the world of fragrance.

Jane Austen's World

This Jane Austen blog brings Jane Austen, her novels, and the Regency Period alive through food, dress, social customs, and other 19th C. historical details related to this topic.

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

For lovers of Australian and New Zealand literary fiction; Ambassador for Australian literature

Joanne Graham

Author, Mother, Random Dreamer

book'd out

Book Reviews and News

Petrona

Mainly about reading with an accent on intelligent crime fiction from around the world.

Reading In The Evening

Book reviews from a literature fiend

Julia Crouch

Novelist: the queen of domestic noir

Qwiklit

Learn Literature Now

Scandinavian Crime Fiction in English Translation

information about authors and books

crimepieces

Sarah Ward, crime author and book reviewer

